Canadian Rangers

The Canadian Rangers, a sub-component of the Canadian Armed Forces (CAF) Reserve, provide patrols and detachments for employment on national-security and public-safety missions in those sparsely settled northern, coastal and isolated areas of Canada which cannot conveniently or economically be covered by other elements or components of the CAF. Formally established in 1947, the Canadian Rangers protect Canada's sovereignty by reporting unusual activities or sightings, collecting local data of significance to the CAF, and conducting surveillance or sovereignty patrols as required.

Canadian Rangers are dedicated, knowledgeable members of the Army and reflect the diversity of the communities they belong to. Many Canadian Rangers are Aboriginal and there are a total of 23 different languages spoken. Easily recognized by their red sweatshirts and ball hats the Canadian Rangers play an important role in advancing public recognition of Canada’s Inuit, First Nations and Métis.

There are currently over 4 700 Canadian Rangers in 178 communities across Canada. This number is expected to increase to 5,000 in 2012.

Mission – Canadian Rangers

The mission of the Canadian Rangers is “to provide lightly equipped, self sufficient, mobile forces in support of the CAF’s sovereignty and domestic operation tasks in Canada.”

Tasks – Canadian Rangers

The National Canadian Ranger Task List is as follows:

Conduct and Provide Support to Sovereignty Operations:

  • Conduct, participate in and provide support to sovereignty and surveillance patrols and training in Canada
  • Conduct North Warning Site patrols
  • Report suspicious and unusual activities
  • Collect local data of military significance;

Conduct and Provide Assistance to CAF Domestic Operations in Canada:

  • Conduct coastal and inland water surveillance
  • Provide local knowledge and CR expertise (guides and advice)
  • Participate in Search and Rescue (SAR) operations
  • Provide support in response to natural or man-made disasters and humanitarian operations and;
  • Provide assistance to Federal, Provincial/Territorial or Municipal authorities;

Maintain CAF presence in the Local Community:

  • Instruct, mentor and supervise the Junior Canadian Rangers; their work with the Junior Canadian Rangers (JCR) Program, while not an “operational” task, does assist in achieving national goals through nation building and significantly improving the quality of life of young people in the most isolated areas of Canada; and
  • Participate in/support events in the Local community (such as Yukon Quest, Canada Day, and Remembrance Day, etc.).

The Canadian Rangers are the military’s eyes, ears in the North hence their motto, Vigilans; “The watchers”. Their original focus on sovereignty and surveillance is still a priority however having proven time and time again their resourcefulness and capabilities the Canadian Rangers have easily grown into other Domestic operations. Some significant examples of Ranger activities include routine Search and Rescue Operations and significant contributions in disasters such as the avalanche at Kangiqsualujjuaq in northern Québec or the drinking water crisis in Kashechewan, Northern Ontario. The Rangers perform their tasks exceptionally well and their value as an operational resource for the Canadian Armed Forces cannot be disputed.

Rangers canadiens

Sous-élément constitutif de la Réserve des Forces armées canadiennes (FAC), les Rangers canadiens (RC) mettent des patrouilles et des détachements au service des missions de sécurité nationale et protection civile le long des côtes, dans les endroits isolés et peu peuplés du Canada, qui ne pourraient être desservis adéquatement et de façon économique par d’autres éléments des FAC. Originalement créés en 1947, les Rangers canadiens protègent la souveraineté du Canada en signalant des activités ou des phénomènes inhabituels, en recueillant, localement, des données d'importance pour les opérations militaires et en effectuant, au besoin, des patrouilles de surveillance ou de protection de la souveraineté.

Les Rangers canadiens sont des membres dévoués et bien informés de l’Armée, et reflète la diversité de leurs communautés respectives. Plusieurs Rangers canadiens sont autochtones avec un total de 23 langues parlées différentes. Les Rangers canadiens se reconnaissent facilement à leur sweatshirt rouge et leur casquette et jouent un rôle important pour faire progresser la reconnaissance publique des groupes des Premières nations, des Inuit et Métis du Canada.

On compte actuellement plus de 4 700 Rangers canadiens dans 178 collectivités partout au Canada. Ce nombre devrait passer à 5 000 d'ici 2012.

Mission des Rangers canadiens

La mission des Rangers canadiens est de « fournir aux FAC une force équipée légèrement, autosuffisante et mobile pour soutenir les opérations sur la scène nationale et protéger la souveraineté du Canada ».

Tâches des Rangers canadiens

Voici la liste des tâches des Rangers canadiens sur la scène nationale :

Exécuter et soutenir des opérations de protection du territoire:

  • Mener et soutenir des patrouilles de surveillance et de protection du territoire au Canada, sur demande et participer à l’instruction
  • effectuer, sur demande des patrouilles dans les postes du Système d’alerte du Nord
  • Signaler les activités suspectes, inhabituelles ou insolites
  • Recueillir des renseignements utiles sur le plan militaire;

Mener et soutenir des opérations des FAC au pays :

  • Surveiller les terres, les côtes et les eaux intérieures sur demande
  • Fournir une expertise sur le milieu local (guides et conseils)
  • Participer aux opérations de recherche et sauvetage (SAR) sur demande
  • Fournir de l’aide en cas de désastres, naturels ou de main d’homme, et dans le cadre d’opérations humanitaires
  • Prêter main-forte à d’autres administrations (fédérale, provinciale, territoriale ou locale) sur demande ;

Assurer une présence des FAC dans la collectivité :

  • Former, encadrer et superviser les Rangers Juniors canadiens; Le rôle qu’ils assument dans le cadre du Programme des Rangers Juniors canadiens (RJC), bien qu’il ne s’agisse pas d’une tâche « opérationnelle », contribue à l’atteinte d’objectifs nationaux. En effet, ils aident à améliorer considérablement la qualité de la vie des jeunes dans les endroits les plus isolés du Canada
  • Soutenir les activités de la collectivité, et y participer, p.ex. Yukon Quest, la Fête du Canada, le jour du Souvenir, etc.

Les Rangers canadiens sont les yeux et les oreilles militaires du Nord de là leur devise Vigilans, les observateurs. Bien que l’orientation originale; visant la surveillance et la souveraineté soit toujours prioritaire, les activités menées par les Rangers canadiens leur ont permis de démontrer leur ingéniosité, leur esprit d’initiative et leur compétence au cours des opérations domestiques. À titre d’exemple notons les opérations de recherche et sauvetage et leur contribution significative lors des désastres comme l’avalanche de Kangiqsualujjuaq dans le nord du Québec ou la crise de l’eau potable de Kashechewan dans le nord de l’Ontario. Les Rangers canadiens ont accomplis leurs tâches de façon exceptionnelle, et leur valeur en tant que ressource opérationnelle pour les FAC est inestimable.

Date de modification :